Colorado Trip, Part 1

It was only a couple of hours after returning home from Portland that I found myself going through airport security once again for my third flight of the day.  I was heading to Breckinridge, Colorado for a  conference on Protein Aggregation and Immunogenicity in pharmaceutical applications.  The trip itself started off interestingly, as when I got through airport security, I found out that my flight to Denver would be delayed by two hours.  This meant that I would miss the shuttle bus that goes from the Denver airport to my hotel Breckenridge, which is about 100 miles away.  I quickly got on the phone and called taxi and shuttle companies to get a quote on how much the trip would cost.  The costs would have ranged from $200.00 to $400.00, so I quickly gave up that option.  I was ready to cancel the trip and go home, as I was tired.  I then called my labmates, who got there earlier via automobile, to see if they were willing to pick me up from Denver.  They agreed to go to the airport, and I told them to get started as early as possible.  I got on my flight, which was another blur, and then we landed at Denver.  However, once we landed, we sat on the runway for about 30 minutes before pulling up to the gate.  When I got out of the plane, I walked across the entire airport because I needed to kill some time before my ride would come.  As soon as I found the entrance, I saw a black Ford Fusion pull up and two Chinese guys waving at me.  They were my labmates, and luckily for all of us, we found each other at just the right moment.  Considering the massive size of Denver International Airport, what are the odds?  From then on, it was 90 minutes of driving through steep mountains in the dark.  We finally got to the hotel in Breckenridge around midnight, wrapping up a very long day for everyone.  I was too hyper to go to bed right away, so I took a shower.  The room was pretty much a two bedroom apartment, and I got a nice bed that made it so easy to sleep.

Leave a Reply

