Being a Couchsurfing Host

Back in January, I joined the Couchsurfing community after a trip to Las Vegas.  I met some people there who highly recommended it.  I have done couch surfing on my own through my network of friends, but not through couchsurfing.org.  As soon as I got back from that trip, I joined, and 24 hours later, I was at a local gathering for couch surfers in my community.  I ran into some acquaintances from my undergraduate days.  They gave me a good introduction to the couch surfing community.  The other night, I had the opportunity to host someone, and it was a rewarding experience.  I had a guest over who is currently moving from Chicago to an organic farm in California.  We discussed it over dinner, as well as my research in prion diseases.  It turns out that his parents hold Ph.D.s, so he has some idea on what Ph.D. students go through to get their degrees.  I showed my guest around the neighborhood, as it was good for him to get a nice walk in after driving all day. We talked some more before going to bed.  After breakfast, he was on his way to his next stop in Wyoming.  It was a nice experience, and I may get to host sometime soon.  I also look forward to using the service to find hosts later on.  If you are interested, you can check out the link above for more information.  Another helpful article that describes couch surfing can also be found here.

Leave a Reply

