50 State Challenge, Part 4

This post will be relatively short since it is about the future and some missed opportunities.

This year, like previous years, I plan on visiting a couple of new states.  So far, I am planning on visiting the Pacific Northwest this year.  In July, I will be attending the World Domination Summit in Portland, Oregon, so I will add Oregon to the list.  Since it is nearby, I want to check out some of southern Washington state, so those will probably end up being 27 and 28 on the list.  For the first time in a long time, I will be traveling with my brother, who is quite excited to go on this trip because it has been a while since he traveled on a long trip like this.  Unlike me, he has not traveled as much, I think he may have been to about 9 states, 7 of which are all of the states that border Nebraska.  I am excited for him, as this will be his first time seeing the ocean.  This will also be my first time seeing the Pacific Ocean.  We may take some surfing lessons while in Oregon.  We plan on spending about a week in the Portland area in July.

I had a missed opportunity to visit California this year.  The first missed opportunity was to visit San Diego for the Biophysical Society meeting.  I planned on submitting an abstract, but was discouraged by my boss from doing so, as I had not produced much new research results during the second half of 2011.  I was working on my comprehensive examination at that time, so I was busy with that.  In the grand scheme of things, passing that exam had a higher priority over visiting San Diego, even though San Diego is one place that I have a burning desire to visit someday.

Much of the states that I have visited so far are located in the Midwest.  The only Midwestern state that I have yet to visit is North Dakota.  I want to go there, but I need to find something to do while I am there.  Fargo seems to be somewhat interesting from what I have heard from people who have passed through there.  I have also visited the Mid-Atlantic all in one trip.  The two main regions that I have not spent a lot of time in are the southeastern states (except Florida, Georgia, and Virginia), the west coast, New England, Alaska, and Hawaii.  Once I finish visiting all 50 states, I may decide to move on to U.S. territories.  I would like to check out Puerto Rico some day.

//

Leave a Reply

